I wrote my first book! Lessons Learnt

Aaron Webb
6 min readJan 27, 2023

On the 22nd of December 2022, I emailed an Australian Book Publishing Company with my manuscript. A 60,000-word book on my 10-year journey as a triathlete, from accidentally competing in the British Universities Triathlon Championship in 2012 to finishing an Ironman in under 10 hours in 2022.

Alongside the manuscript, a one-page synopsis with a brief overview of the book, the intended target audience, and a short author bio was attached to the email.

Who knows if they’ll respond or even read it? The goal is obviously to become a full-time author with books published in hard copies worldwide, supporting audiobooks and the space to pour my introverted (sometimes weird) thoughts and advice onto pages for readers to enjoy.

Quick History & Lessons

Like many, I had a goal to write a book. Alongside the typical goals of building an app, climbing a mountain, and winning the lottery. Years passed without much progress. Just plenty of words spoken at cafes and over a beer in the bars.

Granted, I didn’t have much free time to write a novel from 2019 to 2022 whilst studying for a master's degree, working full time and training for an Ironman triathlon. However, once the degree & training stopped, I finally had space.

--

--

Aaron Webb

Aussie | Sponsored Triathlete | Master's Degree in Cyber Security | Founder of LearnOnChain.io👋